Legislature Convenes for 2021-22 Organizational Session Next Week

On Monday, December 7, the California Legislature will convene in Sacramento to formally commence the 2021-22 Legislative Session. During Monday’s session, elected lawmakers will be sworn into the Senate and Assembly. Notably, the desk will open on Monday, allowing Senators and Assembly Members to introduce their first measures of the new legislative session.

Given the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, additional precautions will be taken by both houses to mitigate the transmission of the virus. Legislative leaders have announced that family members will not be allowed to attend the organizational session as is the tradition. Additionally, the Assembly will be convening off-site at the Golden One Center in Downtown Sacramento, while the Senate will convene in its chambers at the State Capitol.

With the conclusion of the 2019-20 Legislative Session that formally ended this past Monday, several lawmakers either retired, termed out, or were defeated in the November election. These include Senators Jim Beall, Ling Ling Chang, Cathleen Galgiani, Jerry Hill, Hannah-Beth Jackson, Bill Monning, John Moorlach, and Mike Morrell. Assembly Members include Bill Brough, Ian Calderon, Kansen Chu, Tyler Diep, and Christy Smith. Senator Holly Mitchell resigned her seat to become a member of the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, and Assembly Member Todd Gloria was elected the Mayor of the City of San Diego.  

Looking ahead to the new year, the Senate and Assembly will have their work cut out for them when they begin their legislative work in earnest. With the state continuing its response to the COVID-19 pandemic, legislators are anticipated to face numerous competing priorities from education to business relief to pandemic recovery efforts, and more. CHEAC will continue to keep members apprised of legislative activities next week and into the new year.