EMS Commission Appointment Announced

Last week, Governor Gavin Newsom announceda new appointment to the Emergency Medical Services Commission. As a bit of background, the EMS Commission provides regulatory oversight for emergency medical services in California and is comprised of eighteen members representing a variety of EMS disciplines including physicians, a local health officer, paramedics, EMTs, fire representatives, and local EMS agency representatives.

Kristin Weivoda, the local EMS Administrator for Yolo County, was appointed to fill the local EMS administrator seat. Ms. Weivoda has been the Yolo County EMS administrator since 2013, and previously served as a Flight Paramedic at REACH Air Medical Service and was a firefighter and paramedic at the North Tahoe Fire District. Kristin is the immediate past president of the Emergency Medical Services Administrators Association of California (EMSAAC) and serves as the EMSAAC legislative committee chair. CHEAC congratulates Ms. Weivoda on her appointment.

Governor Newsom also reappointed Nancy Gordon, a public safety expert, and Speaker Rendon reappointed Todd Valeri, an ambulance representative, to the Commission.